2014 Inductee:

Don Zietlow
CEO & Owner
Kwik Trip, Inc.

View Don’s Video

There’s nothing common about Don Zietlow, CEO and Owner of Kwik Trip, Inc.; a person who, by living the simple rule of doing unto others as you would have them do unto you, has built a vertically integrated business visited by more than five million guests each week. Kwik Trip began with one store in 1965. Today, Kwik Trip has grown to more than 450 retail stores with office support operations, along with food production and distribution center facilities and construction and transportation departments. Kwik Trip currently employs more than 12,000 co-workers, and plans to add 30+ stores and nearly 1,000 co-workers each year for the foreseeable future.

For Don, the people who work for Kwik Trip are its most vital resource and the reason the chain strives for excellence in everything they do. He has said many times – “You’re only as good as the people who work with you. It’s the 12,000 dedicated co-workers at Kwik Trip who do the job every day that make it all happen.” Kwik Trip’s Safety Mission Statement is a direct reflection of the values and beliefs Don expresses each and every day: To encourage and support a safety culture at Kwik Trip which values input from all co-workers, provides the safest work environment possible for its co-workers and guests, and makes a difference in their lives…both at
work and at home.

The following Individuals have been inducted in past years:





Photo of Tim Howald Photo of Mike Swenson photo of Jim Leef
Timothy J. Howald
Chairman & CEO
Tweet/Garot Mechanical, Inc.
Mike Swenson
Former President/CEO
Northern States Power Company-Wisconsin; Xcel Energy, Inc.
Jim Leef
ITU, Inc.
Curtis Hoppestad
Global Director
Riding Lawn Equipment
John Deere Horicon Works





photo of Jerry Ryder
Jerry Ryder
InSinkErator Division, Emerson Appliance Solutions
Mark Glendenning
President and CEO
Inland Label and Marketing Services
Robert Cervenka
Founder, Chairman and CEO
Phillips Plastics Corporation
Dale Schuh
Chairman, President and CEO
Sentry Insurance





photo of John Bauman
John Baumann
Colony Brands, Inc.
Brad Rosenwald
Vulcan Chemicals
Tom Boldt
The Boldt Company
Erroll Davis
President and CEO
Alliant Energy/Wisconsin Power and Light Company



































In 2001, the Wisconsin Safety Council established the Wisconsin Safety Hall of Fame to recognize high achievement and encourage progress toward a safer and healthier Wisconsin. It symbolizes the Council’s commitment to safety and health.

An individual is inaugurated into the Wisconsin Safety Hall of Fame annually. The recipient is a chief executive officer (CEO), president, or other high-level operating official of an organization that has distinguished itself over a period of years for outstanding achievements in workplace and off-the-job safety and health, community service, environmental stewardship, and responsible citizenship.

The Wisconsin Safety Hall of Fame is a tribute to professionals whose dedication, leadership and achievements have significantly impacted the safety and well-being of not only their employees, but Wisconsin as a whole, throughout the years.

Purposes of the Wisconsin Safety Hall of Fame:

  • To honor an individual whose appreciation of and concern for humanity, safety and health serves as an inspiration to others.
  • To formally acknowledge the Wisconsin Safety Council’s respect for consistent actions and achievements.
  • To congratulate and thank an outstanding leader whose enlightened efforts on behalf of employees and community maintain society’s commitment to the dignity of all people.
  • To acknowledge an individual’s achievement.

Nomination and Selection Criteria:

To be considered for the Wisconsin Safety Hall of Fame, an organization and its leader should have a superior record in advancing safety and health practices within their organization and industry that is consistent with the stated purposes, objectives, and mission of the Wisconsin Safety Council.

The Wisconsin Safety Council is the state’s leading provider of workplace safety training and programming. Founded in 1923, WSC is a division of Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce and the proud state chapter of the National Safety Council.

For more information, contact Janie Ritter, WSC Director, 800.236.3400.