Teel Plastics, Inc. Chairman & CEO Elected to Serve as WMC Chairman


WMC Prioritizes Pro-Growth Policy Agenda and 2018 Elections

MILWAUKEE – Teel Plastics, Inc. Chairman & CEO Jay L. Smith was elected Chairman of the Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce (WMC) Board of Directors on Friday. Smith will serve a two-year term as Chairman of WMC, the state chamber of commerce and manufacturers’ association. Smith served as Vice Chairman of the WMC Board for the last two years.

“Jay’s impact at WMC has been considerable since he joined the Board in 2008,” said WMC President & CEO Kurt R. Bauer. “We are eager for Jay to continue serving our organization in his new role as Chairman. There are numerous public policy goals we still hope to accomplish during this legislative session, and our Board and members will work diligently to advocate for pro-business candidates in the upcoming elections.”

Stephen D. Loehr, Vice President, Kwik Trip, Inc., was elected to a two-year term as Vice Chairman. Additionally, Tod B. Linstroth, Senior Partner & Member of Management Committee, Michael Best & Friedrich, LLP, was re-elected Secretary; Gina A. Peter, Executive Vice President – Commercial Banking Division Manager, Wells Fargo Bank, was re-elected Treasurer; and Kurt R. Bauer, was re-elected President & CEO.

Others elected or re-elected to WMC’s 53-member board at the Annual Board Meeting are:

  • Daniel Defnet – Executive Vice President, Commercial Banking, Johnson Financial Group, Racine
  • Jeff T. French – National Managing Partner, Consumer & Industrial Products, Grant Thornton LLP, Appleton
  • Philip C. Fritsche, President, Beaver Dam Area Chamber of Commerce, Beaver Dam
  • Louis P. Gentine II – CEO, Sargento Foods, Inc., Plymouth
  • Robert Gerbitz – President/CEO, Hendricks Commercial Properties, Beloit
  • Michael F. Hamerlik – President/CEO, WPS Health Solutions, Madison
  • Wilson R. Jones, President/CEO, Oshkosh Corporation, Oshkosh
  • Suzanne Kelley, President/CEO, Waukesha County Business Alliance, Waukesha
  • Allen L. Leverett – President, WEC Energy Group, Milwaukee
  • Rosalie F. Morgan – President, EMCS, Inc., Milwaukee
  • Robert Moses, President/CEO, Prairie du Chien Area Chamber of Commerce, Prairie du Chien
  • Barbara Nick – President/CEO, Dairyland Power Cooperative, La Crosse
  • Aaron B. Powell, Partner/Chief Strategy Officer, Flexion, Inc., Sun Prairie
  • Joseph T. Pregont – President/CEO, Prent Corporation, Janesville
  • Jay O. Rothman – CEO/Chairman/Partner, Foley & Lardner LLP, Milwaukee
  • William P. Schultz – Partner, Quarles & Brady LLP, Milwaukee
  • Todd Wanek – President/CEO, Ashley Furniture Industries, Inc., Arcadia


For more information, contact:
Nick Novak, 608.258.3400