2017 Recipient:


William “Bill” Koepnick
President, Professional Training Services, Inc.

Bill has over 42 years of experience in safety and health, including positions as a corporate safety specialist in industry, and 11 years with the Wisconsin Safety Council as the Executive Director between 1978 and 1989. Bill has owned and operated a successful safety and health consulting business for 27 years, and over his tenure, has educated thousands of health and safety professionals across the state and country.

Earning his Bachelor of Science degree from University of Wisconsin-Whitewater in Education, majoring in Industrial Safety Management, Bill positioned himself to succeed in his chosen field of discipline. Bill began his career at Harnischfeger Corporation as Corporate Safety Specialist, responsible for all aspects of compliance including training, audits, incident analysis and policy development. In May 1978, Bill was hired by Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce to serve as the Director of Safety Education within the Wisconsin Safety Council (WSC) where he was responsible for developing and conducting training programs on a wide variety of safety and health subjects throughout the state of Wisconsin. During this time, Bill served as the state’s defensive driving coordinator and directed the National Safety Council’s material sales in Wisconsin and eventually became the Executive Director of WSC, leading the charge on membership development and recruitment, committee development and educational programs.

Following his decade plus of dedicated leadership heading WSC, Bill decided to give into his entrepreneurial spirit and launch a consulting and training business developing and delivering safety educational workshops and safety audits on a broader perspective. Professional Training Services, Inc. has been in business for the past 27 years.

Bill served as president of the American Society of Safety Engineers-Wisconsin Chapter and is also a certified Mine Safety and Health Administration instructor. Additionally, he is a highly sought-after presenter for the National Safety Council, the Wisconsin Safety Council, and at other conferences across the United States.

Many of you who have attended training and conferences, or have earned your Advanced Safety Certificate, through the Wisconsin Safety Council, undoubtedly have taken a course with, or heard Bill present. It is an honor for us to recognize Bill with this very prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award.

The following Individuals have received the Wisconsin Safety Council Lifetime Achievement Award:


Hank Fitzsimmons LinkedIn photo

Hank Fitzsimmons






Unawarded  AndersonBob BrockmeyerWarren

 Robert Anderson, Sr.


Warren Brockmeyer

Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development


Mercury Marine





Photo of Pat Ostrenga

Pat Ostrenga

U.S. Department of Labor – OSHA


Tom Ordens

Sentry Insurance

Mel Lischefski

U.S. Department of
Labor – OSHA

Eileen Blanckaert

Grandé Cheese Company





Bill Banaszak

Brenntag Great
Lakes, LLC

Richard Klawiter

UW - Platteville

Frances Huntley-Cooper

Department of Workforce Development

Terry Moen

WisCon Program Wisconsin State Laboratory of Hygiene





Walter Kante

Walter Kante Safety Consultants

Judith Grzegorski

JAG Safety & Security LLC

Jack Dobson

Simplicity Manufacturing, Inc.

Dr. John Olson

UW – Stout


Dr. Roger Hauser

UW – Platteville

The Wisconsin Safety Council’s Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes individuals for a lifetime of commitment to improving the safety and health of Wisconsin and America’s workers.Their passion for safety, extraordinary work ethic and integrity will be of great inspiration in the years to come.

For more information, contact WSC at 608.661.6914.